Titanic movie soundtrack is the songs to the 1997 box office highly successful movie, Titanic, composed and conducted by James Horner. It was released by Sony music on November 18, 1997.

With immense success recorded with the movie, the soundtrack rose to the top of the chart in many countries and selling more than 30 million copies worldwide, making it one of the top selling albums in the United States. It is one of the bestselling album of all time and the highest selling orchestrated soundtrack ever made.

The Titanic movie director, James Cameron initially wanted Enya to compose the music. He even went as far as putting together a rough edit of the film using Enya’s music as temporary soundtrack, but Enya declined the offer. He then approached James Horner. His relationship with James Horner was frosty after their collaborations on the movie, Aliens. But the beautiful work done by James Horner in the soundtrack of the movie, Braveheart made Cameron to overlook it. Horner composed the soundtrack to mirror Enya’s style, and Norwegian singer Sissel Kyrkjebo performed the wordless vocals on the soundtrack.

Horner had earlier worked with Sissel on the album Innerst I sjelen and he loved the way she sang the song Eg Veit I Himmerik Ei Borg (“I Know in Heaven There is a Castle”). Before settling on Sissel for the job, Horner had tried 25 to 30 singers.

Celine Dion sang the file’s signature song “My Heart Will Go On”, written by James Horner and Will Jennings. Initially, director Cameron seems not to be pleased with a song sung over the film’s ending credits, but Horner disagreed and went ahead to write the song and had Celine Dion sang it. Cameron eventually changed his mind when Horner presented the recorded song to him. “My Heart Will Go On” went on the became a worldwide hit, and ended up winning the 1997 Academy Award for The Best Original Song and  the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song in 1998.

Other artists like Michael W, Smith also submitted a song “In My Arm Again” for the movie.

Horner used a digital choir for choral background in some of the soundtrack instead of a real one because he wanted to avoid a church like sound.

The following are the songs as contained in the standard edition as released.

  • Never an Absolution
  • Distant Memories
  • Southampton
  • Rose
  • Leaving Port
  • Take Her To Sea, Mr. Murdoch
  • Hard to Starboard
  • Unable to Stay, Unwilling to Leave
  • The Sinking
  • Death of Titanic
  • A Promise Kept
  • A Life So Changed
  • An Ocean of Memories
  • My Heart Will Go On
  • Hymn To The Sea